Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Posted at: Jun 10, 2019, 6:54 AM; last updated: Jun 10, 2019, 6:54 AM (IST)KATOCH SHIELD

Arpit, Gourav score tons

Help Chandigarh claim 263-run lead against Ropar
Arpit, Gourav score tons
A Chandigarh batsman plays a shot in the Punjab Inter-District Cricket Championship for the Katoch Shield at the Sector 16 Cricket Stadium on Sunday. Pradeep tewari

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, June 9

Perfectly-timed centuries by Arpit Singh (151) and Gourav Puri (110) helped Chandigarh to gain a commanding position against Ropar in a second-leg match of the Punjab Inter-District Cricket Championship for the Katoch Shield today.

After winning the toss and opting to bat at the Sector 16 Cricket Stadium, the Ropar lads failed against tight bowling by city pacers Bhagminder Singh (4/15) and Siddarth Kaul (3/13). The visitors were routed for only 108 runs. Inderpreet Singh and Parees Bhatia made 26 runs each to remain the best performers for the Ropar team. Jagjit Singh, Arshdeep and Arpit claimed a wicket apiece to contribute in restricting Ropar on a low total.

In reply, the city lads were 371/5 when the stumps were drawn today. They ended the first day of the two-day match with a 263-run lead. Chasing a low total, city openers Manan Vohra (4) and Shivam Bhambri (1) failed to get a good start. The local team was reduced to 9/2 by pacer Simranpal. However, Arpit and Puri then joined to raise a 222-run partnership for the third wicket. Puri was the first to go for 110 off 111 balls, with 15 boundaries and three sixes. Talwinder then joined Arpit and the duo carried the innings forward in a confident manner.

They were involved in a 92-run stand for the fourth wicket. The partnership was broken by Hemant, when he accounted for Arpit, who made 151 off 152 balls, with 19 boundaries and four sixes. Jagmeet (11) was the fifth wicket to fall for the city team. However, Talwinder (88 off 83 balls, with 13 boundaries and two sixes) ended hopes Ropar may have had of dismissing Chandigarh quickly.

Prabhsimran again shines with bat, scores 112

There was no stopping Patiala opener Prabhsimran Singh as he scored his second consecutive century of the tournament today. While playing against hosts Ludhiana, Prabhsimran scored 112 off 129 balls, with 11 boundaries and two sixes, to help Patiala achieve 378 in 94.5 overs. 

After losing opening partner Jiwanjot Singh (1), Prabhsimran helped to restructure the Patiala innings. He was involved in a 100-run partnership for the second wicket with Sanvir Singh (28) and a 68-run stand with Prabhjot Singh (33) before falling prey to Krishan.

Anmol Malhotra (87 off 145 balls, with 10 boundaries), Mandeep Inder Bawa (34 off 67 balls) and Ikjot Thind (33) were the other notable scorers for Patiala. Sukhjinder Singh (4/79), Krishan (3/117) and Simrajeet Singh (2/95) were the main wicket-takers for the bowling side.   

Mandeep, Gaurav score centuries, trouble Mohali

Mandeep (116) and Gaurav Chaudhary (114) came up with brilliant centuries to help Jalandhar post 449 on the opening day against Mohali. The duo was also involved in a 124-run partnership for the third wicket. Maninder Singh claimed both Mandeep (116 off 136 balls, including 15 boundaries) and Chaudhary (114 off 183 balls, with 16 boundaries and a six). Abhishek Gupta (93 off 86 balls, with 10 boundaries and two sixes) and Mansab Gill (58 off 92 balls, with eight boundaries and two sixes) were the other two principal scorers for the team. Harpreet Brar claimed three wickets, while Barinder Sran, Maninder and Gurkeerat Mann claimed two wickets each.

Abhishek on cloud nine

Amritsar's Abhishek Sharma continued his top form as he contributed a quickfire 240 off 125 balls, studded with 26 boundaries and 12 sixes, to help his side post 417 against an unfortunate Nawanshahr side. His innings was well supported by Sharad Lumba, who posted 104 off 80 balls, including 14 boundaries and two sixes. Harpreet Singh claimed a five-wicket haul for the bowling side. In reply, the Nawanshahr  lads were all out for 134 to trail by 283 runs. Jatin Kumar (37), Rishab Sharma (28) and Balwinder Singh (25) were the three main performers for the side. Vinay Choudhary (5/29) was the pick of the bowlers, while Abhishek (2/18), Navneet Singh (1/25) and Rohit Gulati (1/16) were also among the wickets. 


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On