Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Posted at: Jun 9, 2019, 7:21 AM; last updated: Jun 9, 2019, 7:21 AM (IST)

Shaawast, Vrishim in main draw

Shaawast, Vrishim in main draw
Gaurav returns a shot in the STA Open Tennis Championship at Chandigarh Club, Sector 1, on Saturday. Pradeep Tewari

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, June 8

Shaawast blanked Rudra Partap 4-0 in a second-round match of the combined U-10 category on the opening day of the STA Open Tennis Tournament at the Sector 1 Chandigarh Club today. Akhil also registered an identical 4-0 victory against Sparsh.

In other matches, Vrishim Awashthi overpowered Ribhav 4-1 and Kabir defeated Ayaan Mittal 4-2.

Gopal beat Nimai 6-1 in a second-round match of the boys’ U-12 category. Daksh sailed to the next round by defeating Akshit 6-0 and Devansh overpowered Uday 6-2. Earlier, in the first round, Akshit had defeated Jasjeet 6-1, while Daksh overpowered Aayush 6-2. Shourya also logged a 6-1 win against Nimit and Uday blanked Aaditya 6-2. In the boys’ U-14 second round, Shourya easily defeated Aryan Vaid 6-0 and Hariday defeated Anshul 6-4.  Kartik Sunil moved into the second round of the boys’ U-16 category by defeating Hridya 6-2. Gaurav overpowered Dhruv 6-2 and Sabhya defeated Ishan 6-1.

In the girls’ U-12 category, Shrawasti qualified for the main draw by defeating Diza 6-1 and in the U-16 category, Tammana defeated Vandana 6-1.


  • Combined U-10 (first round): Rudra bt Sanidhiya Sharma 4-3(4), Vrishim Awasthi bt Prabhjot Singh 4-0; (Second round) Vrishim bt Ribhav 4-1, Shaawast bt Rudra 4-0, Kabir bt Ayaan Mittal 4-2, Akhil bt Sparsh 4-0
  • Boys' U-12(first round): Akshit bt Jasjeet 6-1, Daksh bt Aayush 6-2, Shourya bt Nimit 6-1, Uday bt Aaditya 6-2, Gopal bt Raksh Puri 6-4; (second round) Gopal bt Nimai 6-1, Daksh bt Akshit 6-0, Devansh bt Uday 6-2
  • Boys' U-14 (first round): Daksh bt Sabhya 6-4; (second round) Shourya bt Aryan Vaid 6-0, Hariday bt Anshul 6-4
  • Boys' U-16 (first round): Kartik Sunil bt Hridya 6-2, Gaurav bt Dhruv 6-2, Sabhya bt Ishan 6-1
  • Girls' U-12 (first round): Dhriti bt Mannat 6-2; (second round) Shrawasti bt Diza 6-1


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On