Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Posted at: Feb 14, 2018, 12:50 AM; last updated: Feb 14, 2018, 12:50 AM (IST)

Garbage-free cities to get star rating

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, February 13

The government has decided to go for star-rating status of garbage-free cities.

Urban Local Bodies Minister Kavita Jain said here today that a city could be declared garbage-free if it complies with the key components of the rating methodology.

These include door-to-door collection, segregation at source, sweeping of public, commercial and residential areas, waste storage bins, litter bins and material recovery facility.

The other key components include bulk waste generators compliance, scientific waste processing, scientific land-filling and C and D waste management, user fee, penalties, spot fines for littering and enforcement of ban on plastic, citizen grievance redressal and feedback system, eradication of crude dumping of garbage and dump remediation, cleaning of storm drains and surface of water bodies, waste reduction and visible beautification in the city.

She said that the cities fulfilling the necessary conditions for garbage-free star rating would have to carry out self-assessment and self-verification as per the methodology of the protocol.

Upon satisfactory verification, the Municipal Commissioner, Chief Officer or Chairperson of the city may self-declare the garbage-free star rating of the city and notify it by a public notification. Then, it has to be communicated to the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs through the state government.

She said that to ensure credibility of the garbage-free star rating, the Union Ministry would take up independent verification and validation through a third party.

The state government has the discretion to take up similar third party verification for the remaining 1-star, 2-star and 4-star ratings. There is no 6-star rating, the minister added.

A city has to be certified open defecation-free in order to apply for 3-star and above rating. The third party certification would be valid for a year. The process would have to be re-assessed and re-certified every 12 months, she said.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On