Saturday, February 23, 2019

Posted at: Feb 14, 2018, 1:31 AM; last updated: Feb 14, 2018, 1:31 AM (IST)

Bypoll in mind, Cong starts doling grants

Tribune News Service

Jalandhar, February 13

On the day of bhog ceremony of former SAD minister and Shahkot MLA Ajit Singh Kohar, the Congress leadership were seen coming in full election mode.

Attending a kabaddi tournament at Dhandowal village in Shahkot today, Rural Development and Panchayat Minister Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa today offered Rs 3 lakh grant to the school while also committing to pay up Rs 25 lakh for the stadium against a demand of village residents of Rs 20 lakh.

The five-time Akali MLA, Kohar, had passed away on February 5 following a cardiac arrest, making the seat vacant for a byelection.

Bajwa, who was accompanied by Hardev Singh Laddi Sherowalia, another Congress leader, who had lost to Kohar in the 2017 elections, said: “It will be up to the party high command to decide as to who will be the candidate for the ensuing bypoll.”

Other party leaders, including MP Chaudhary Santokh Singh, former minister Rana Gurjit Singh and former MLA Jagbir Brar also attended the function.

Addressing the gathering, Bajwa said the state government led by Capt Amarinder Singh was making all-out efforts to promote rural games in the state as they could play an important role in wiping out the drug menace.

The minister said such tournaments were significant as besides promoting sportsmanship among the youth it also help in channelising their unbounded energy in a positive direction.

Showering praise on NRIs for organising the tournament, the minister said with the constant help of NRIs, Punjab would soon emerge as a healthy and front-runner state in the country.

He said such endeavours would also help in ensuring that NRIs stay connected with the roots of their motherland.

Bajwa said it was the high time that the NRIs should emerge as active partners in the progress and prosperity of the state.

Prominent among others present on the occasion were Markfed Chairman Amarjeet Singh Samra, former minister Joginder Singh Mann, Additional Deputy Commissioner Bhupinder Pal Singh, Sub-Divisional Magistrate Navneet Kaur Bal and Assistant Superintendent of Police Sandeep Malik.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On