Thursday, November 21, 2019
Jammu Kashmir

Posted at: Apr 21, 2019, 7:02 AM; last updated: Apr 21, 2019, 7:02 AM (IST)

After scrutiny, 5 left in fray in Ladakh

Jammu, April 20

With the rejection of the nomination papers of the BJP’s covering candidate and the withdrawal of nominations by two candidates, a total of five candidates have now been left in the race for the Ladakh parliamentary seat which is going to the polls on May 6.

According to the Returning Officer (RO) for the Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, Avny Lavasa, the General Observer, Leh, Alkesh Kumar, assistant returning officers of Leh, Kargil and Zanskar, contesting candidates and their representatives were present at the time of the scrutiny of the nomination papers.

The papers of Rigzin Spalbar of the Congress, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal of the BJP and Tsering Namgyal, Asgar Ali Karbalai, Sajjad Hussain, Kacho Mohd Feroz, Asgar Ali, all Independents, were found valid and accepted.

The papers of the BJP’s covering candidate Dorji Angchuk were rejected after the papers of the main candidate of the party were accepted. However, two candidates also withdrew their nominations, leaving only five candidates in the electoral race. — TNS


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On