Friday, November 22, 2019

Posted at: Aug 20, 2019, 8:28 AM; last updated: Aug 20, 2019, 6:43 PM (IST)

Yediyurappa inducts 17 ministers in first cabinet expansion

Yediyurappa inducts 17 ministers in first cabinet expansion
Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala administers the oath of office and secrecy to B Sriramulu during the swearing-in ceremony of Karnataka BJP Government, at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru, on August 20, 2019. PTI

Bengaluru, August 20

More than three weeks after he was sworn in as Chief Minister, BS Yediyurappa on Tuesday expanded his ministry by inducting 17 ministers into his cabinet.

This is the first cabinet expansion after he assumed office on July 26 and proved his government's majority on the floor of the Assembly on July 29.

The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala at the Raj Bhavan here.

They include former chief minister Jagadish Shettar, two former deputy chief ministers—KS Eshwarappa and R Ashoka--Independent MLA H Nagesh and Laxman Sangappa Savadi, who is not a member of the Assembly or Council, and MLC Kota Srinivas Poojari.

Others sworn in were Govind M Karajol, Ashwath Narayan CN, B Sreeramulu, S Suresh Kumar, V Somanna, CT Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, JC Madhu Swamy, CC Patil, Prabhu Chauhan and Shashikala Jolle Annasaheb, who is the only woman cabinet minister.

Karnataka can have a maximum of 34 ministers, including the Chief Minister. PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On