Wednesday, April 26, 2017
facebook

google plus
Science Technology

Posted at: Mar 20, 2017, 11:20 AM; last updated: Mar 20, 2017, 11:22 AM (IST)

SpaceX cargo ship returns to Earth

SpaceX cargo ship returns to Earth
This NASA TV image shows SpaceX's unmanned Dragon cargo ship docked at the International Space Station on April 10, 2016. — AFP

WASHINGTON: A SpaceX reusable cargo ship splashed down in the Pacific Ocean safely, ending a mission to supply astronauts on the International Space Station, the company has said.

The Dragon capsule—the only such vessel capable of returning research samples and other material to Earth—remained docked with the ISS for nearly a month after delivering more than two tonnes of food, water and scientific equipment for NASA on February 23.

Before its departure, the crew loaded the cargo ship with old equipment, waste and almost 4,000 pounds of research samples from experiments carried out in the station’s condition of microgravity.

Released by the ISS’s robot arm at 0900 GMT (1430 IST), the capsule undertook a more than six-hour journey back to Earth, landing off the coast of Mexico yesterday just before 1600 GMT (2130 IST), its final descent slowed by three giant parachutes.

“Today we said goodbye to the #Dragon!” tweeted the French astronaut Thomas Pesquet, one of six crew members, who arrived on the ISS in November.

“She is taking part of us back to the ground with her - important scientific samples, some from the crew!” — AFP

COMMENTS

All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On